Web.com Tour competitor Gangluff holds field off all three days of the Ohio Open championship 

NOPGA by Lynn Plaisance

Stephen Gangluff (Delaware, OH) opened his 2018 Davey Tree/Minute Men Ohio Open campaign on a torrid pace at Fox Meadow Country Club where he shot an 8 under 64. This fast start paired with another great round of 66 on Tuesday at Weymouth Country Club put him at 14 under and in a strong position to hoist the Commodore Perry Ohio Open Trophy today as the 98th Davey Tree/Minute Men Ohio Open Champion. His three day total was 64-66-73 (203) -13. Second Place finisher, Nathan Tarter (Akron, OH) did not make it easy for Gangluff today, though. Tarter made a strong charge for the championship which included an eagle on Hole #14 to finish just one shot back at 12 under with a score of 69-66-69 (204). Defending Champion, Chase Wilson (Zanesville, OH) finished in third place with a score of 65 68 74 (207).

The Amateur competition ended in a two way tie for Low Amateur. Benjamin Jones from Strongsville, OH shot a 69 72 71 (212) to tie with Alex Weiss from Pickerington, OH. They finished one stroke ahead of Blake Prince from East Liverpool, OH who shot a 71-66-76 (213).

The Davey Tree/Minute Men Ohio Open is Ohio’s most prestigious tournament, and attracts the best professional and amateur golfers from throughout the state. This year’s championship—presented by Pyramid Treating and ACE a Division of Meritech, Inc.—was held July 16-18, at Weymouth Country Club and Fox Meadow Country Club.

The Section is excited to have Davey Tree back for the fourth year as the event’s title sponsor, and excited to welcome back Minute Men as a title sponsor. In addition, we’d like to thank Pyramid Treating for their long-standing partnership with this event and the Northern Ohio PGA. We are also pleased to welcome ACE a Division of Meritech, Inc. as a presenting sponsor.

Ohio Open Champions:
2018 Stephen Gangluff
2017 Chase Wilson 
2016 Tim Crouch 
2015 Justin Lower 
2014 Tim Ailes 
2013 Colin Biles 
2012 Justin Lower 
2011 Mike Emery 
2010 Bob Sowards 
2009 Vaughn Snyder 
2008 Tyler Riley 
2007 Eric Frishette 
2006 Danny Sahl 
2005 Rob Moss 
2004 Bob Sowards 
2003 Ryan Dennis 
2002 Bob Sowards 
2001 Rob Moss 
2000 Ken Tanigawa 
1999 Rob Moss 
1998 Chris Black 
1997 Nevin Sutcliffe 
1996 Dennis Miller 
1995 Ivan Smith 
1994 Chris Smith 
1993 Mitch Camp 
1992 Chris Smith 
1991 Jack Ferenz 
1990 Bruce Soulsby 
1989 Tony Mollica 
1988 Don Padgett 
1987 Joe Kruczek 
1986 Gary Robison 
1985 Mitch Camp 
1984 Roy Hobson 
1983 Gene Boni 
1982 Walter Cerrato 
1981 Kim Boehlke 
1980 Jim Logue 
1979 Gary Trivisonno 
1978 Robert Lewis 
1977 Gene Ferrell 
1976 Martin Roesink 
1975 Todd Crandall 
1974 Deon Good 
1973 Dick Plummer 
1972 Bob Wynn 
1971 Bob Wynn 
1970 Bob Wynn 
1969 Cliff Cook, Sr. 
1968 Frank Wharton 
1967 Frank Boynton, Jr. 
1966 Frank Boynton, Jr. 
1965 Tom Weiskopf 
1964 Don Stickney 
1963 Bob Shave, Jr. 
1962 Bob Shave, Jr. 
1961 Frank Stranahan 
1960 Frank Stranahan 
1959 Lee Raymond 
1958 Bob Shave, Jr. 
1957 Edward Griffiths 
1956 Jack Nicklaus 
1955 Billy Burke 
1954 Dick Shoemaker 
1953 Dick Shoemaker 
1952 Frank Gelhot 
1951 Herman Keiser 
1950 Denny Shute 
1949 Herman Keiser 
1948 Frank Stranahan 
1947 Al Marchi 
1946 John Krisko 
1945 Billy Burke 
1944 Maurice J. McCarthy, Jr. 
1943 No Tournament 
1942 Byron Nelson 
1941 Byron Nelson 
1940 Byron Nelson 
1939 Billy Burke 
1938 Billy Burke 
1937 Phil Perkins 
1936 Al Espinosa 
1935 Ted Luther 
1934 Lloyd Gullickson 
1933 Al Espinosa 
1932 Al Espinosa 
1931 Denny Shute 
1930 Denny Shute 
1929 Denny Shute 
1928 Jack Thompson, Jr. 
1927 Albert Alcroft 
1926 Albert Alcroft 
1925 Larry Nabholtz 
1924 Emmett French 
1923 Stephen Zappe 
1922 Emmet French 
1921 Grange Alves
Related Stories